U.S. Department of Agriculture Small Business Innovation Research Program Update

The USDA has announced some interesting information recently:

Topics “8.6 Rural and Community Development” and “8.12 Small and Mid‑Sized Farms” will allow off the shelf technologies.

As many of you know there has been a significant shift in the USDA and NIFA and many of the previous employees have elected to resign positions rather than move to Kansas.  It’s always a good idea to get to know them before you submit a proposal.  The National Program Managers are listed below by topic:

8.1 – Daniel Cassidy (patrick.cassidy@usda.gov)

8.2 – Robert Nowierski (robert.nowierski@usda.gov)

8.3 – Robert Smith (robert.m.smith@usda.gov)

8.4 – Jim Dobrowolski (james.dobrowolski@usda.gov)

8.5 – Max Teplitski (max.teplitski@usda.gov) and DeirdraChester (deirdra.chester@usda.gov)

8.6 – Caroline Crocoll (caroline.crocoll@usda.gov)

8.7 – Adele Turzillo (adele.turzillo@usda.gov)

8.8 – Ed Kaleikau (edward.kaleiku@usda.gov)

8.12 – Denis Ebodaghe (denis.ebodaghe@usda.gov)

8.13 – Steven Thomson (steven.j.thomson@usda.gov)

The USDA SBIR program Office was also kind enough to release the following data.  As you can see the success rate for 2019 Phase I awards was only 10%; however, the success rate for resubmissions was 27%. That’s significant!

 

The Delaware SBDC, a unit of the University of Delaware’s Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships (OEIP), is funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the State of Delaware. All opinions, conclusions, and/or recommendations expressed herein are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the SBA or the sponsoring agencies. All programs and services are extended to the public on a nondiscriminatory basis. As equal opportunity/affirmative action employers, the SBA, the University of Delaware and the State of Delaware are all committed to assuring equal opportunity to all persons. The University of Delaware is an equal opportunity/affirmative action employer and Title IX institution. For the University’s complete non-discrimination statement, please visit http://www.udel.edu/home/legal-notices/. - powered by Enfold WordPress Theme